Free Shipping on orders over $150

Rodrigo Tavares - Congo


Format: LP, Album

Media Condition:  Mint (M)
Sleeve Condition: Mint (M)
Country:    UK  
Genre:       Jazz, Rock
Style:         Contemporary Jazz, Alternative Rock, Experimental, Post Rock, Art Rock

Factory Sealed Brand new. We are a bricks & mortar record store located at 163a Acland St, St Kilda, Melbourne. New & Pre-loved Vinyl. Save on postage and collect directly from us. Cash or credit card accepted as well as paypal. Open 7 days. 10.30am-6.30pm



Digitally released November 24, 2016 Vinyl Release March 16, 2018 on Hive Mind Records in an edition of 500 copies 12" black vinyl in 350gsm matt printed gatefold sleeve with printed inner sleeve. Hive Mind Records are delighted to present Congo, the debut album from Brazilian guitarist and composer Rodrigo Tavares. Maintaining a meditative mood across it’s nine instrumental pieces, Congo blends composition and improvisation with subtly experimental yet sophisticated arrangements that evoke the mood and rhythms of classic Brazilian artists such as João Gilberto, Dorival Caymmi, Tom Jobim, Milton Nascimento and Caetano Veloso. Rodrigo's work draws on a lifetime of immersive listening and diverse influences, and on Congo we can hear elements of jazz, post rock, minimalist composition and disparate global sounds melt together to create a deep listening experience that falls between genres and wilfully defies categorisation. From reverb drenched solo guitar pieces such as Cidade Sol I to expansive full group pieces such as De Roda or A Raposa E O Corvo, Rodrigo has crafted a lush soundworld that rewards exploration and will appeal to fans of music as diverse as Joshua Abrams and Natural Information Society, Collocutor, BadBadNotGood, Durutti Column or late Talk Talk, as much as it does to lovers of classic Brazilian music.


A1. Rosa Rio 3:21
A2. Congo I 5:10
A3. De Roda 5:45
A4. A Raposa E O Corvo 7:20
B1. Yangon 5:23
B2. Cidade Sol I 1:25
B3. Cidade Sol II 6:24
B4. Dezesseis 2:46
B5. Congo II 1:38


Data provided by Discogs