Free Shipping on orders over $150

Gorillaz - Gorillaz


Stock: 3

Format: 2xLP, Album, RE

Media Condition:  Mint (M)
Sleeve Condition: Mint (M)
Country:    Europe  
Genre:       Electronic, Hip Hop, Rock
Style:         Leftfield, Latin, Trip Hop, Lo-Fi, Pop Rap, Experimental

Factory sealed brand spanking new

Gorillaz's self-titled debut album, "Gorillaz," introduced the world to a groundbreaking musical project that transcended conventional boundaries. Released in 2001, the album marked the collaborative efforts of Damon Albarn, the creative force behind Blur, and the visual artist Jamie Hewlett. Together, they crafted a multimedia experience that fused music, animation, and storytelling into a unique package. The virtual band members—2D, Murdoc, Noodle, and Russel—brought to life by Hewlett's distinct art style, offered an innovative and imaginative approach to music presentation.

The album's sonic landscape traverses an eclectic range of genres, from hip-hop to alternative rock to electronic, reflecting Albarn's willingness to experiment and challenge norms. Tracks like "Clint Eastwood" and "Tomorrow Comes Today" captivated listeners with their infectious beats and distinct vocal deliveries, while the underlying narrative woven throughout the album's virtual band members added an extra layer of intrigue. "Gorillaz" wasn't just an album; it was a multimedia experience that blurred the lines between reality and fiction, ushering in a new era of artistic expression and redefining what music could be in the digital age.



Tracks listed sequentially on the release. Re-released in gatefold sleeve, including two printed inner sleeves. No track timings on any printed matter. (C) TM Gorillaz Partnership 2000 (P) 2001 except tracks 3 & 10 (P) 2000 the copyright in this sound recording is owned by Parlophone Records Ltd. (C) 2001 Parlophone Records Ltd. A Warner Music Group Company. Made in the EU (is indicated on the back cover, unlike other 2015 reissue - [r20414716, where indicated "Made in the Netherlands" on the back cover). There is a locked groove between Tracks 15 and Track 16. Recorded at Gee Jam Studios, Jamaica Photography credit is printed as "Ed Reeves and Jow@spiritproductions" on the release. Ibrahim Ferrer appears courtesy of World Circuit Records. Del Tha Funky Homosapien appears courtesy of Hieroglyphics Imperium Recordings. / Damon Albarn appears courtesy of EMI Records. Published by EMI Music Publishing Ltd. with exception of Track 4: EMI Music Publishing Ltd. / Pookie Tree Publishing Co., New York Track 5: EMI Musin Publishing Ltd. / EMI United Partnership Ltd/WB Music Corp. Track 12: EMI Music Publishing Ltd. / World Circuit Music Publishing Ltd. Track 15: EMI Music Publishing Ltd./Laurel Show Music (administered by Ensign Music Corporation) and Harbro Music. / "New Genious (Brother)" contains portions of "Hit or Miss" by Odetta Gordon and is published by Pookie Tree Publishing Co., New York & performed by Bo Diddley, used courtesy of Chess records. Under License from Universal Music Enterprises, a division of UMG recordings. "M1 A1" contains portions of the film "Day Of the Dead" music written by John Harrison. Published by Laurel Show Music (administered by Ensign Music CDoporation) and Harbro Music. "Rock The House" contains portions from "Modesty Blaise" written by J.Dankworth and published by EMI United Partnership Ltd./WB Music Corp (ASCAP) The back of the sleeve doesn't have any mention whatsoever of EMI. The EMI logo is also missing. Those help in differentiating the 2015 pressing from the 2001 one.


A1. Re-Hash 3:40
A2. 5/4 2:42
A3. Tomorrow Comes Today 3:14
A4. New Genious (Brother) 3:59
B5. Clint Eastwood 5:43
B6. Man Research (Clapper) 4:32
B7. Punk 1:38
B8. Sound Check (Gravity) 4:42
C9. Double Bass 4:46
C10. Rock The House 4:11
C11. 19-2000 3:29
C12. Latin Simone (Que Pasa Contigo) 3:38
D13. Starshine 3:33
D14. Slow Country 3:37
D15. M1 A1 3:57
D16. Clint Eastwood (Ed Case / Sweetie Irie Re-Fix) 4:28


Copyright (c) Gorillaz Partnership
Copyright (c) Parlophone Records Ltd.
Phonographic Copyright (p) Parlophone Records Ltd.
Record Company Warner Music Group
Recorded At Geejam Studios
Marketed By Parlophone
Distributed By Parlophone
Published By EMI Music Publishing Ltd.
Published By Ensign Music Corp.
Published By Harbro Music
Published By Laurel Show Music
Published By Pookie Tree Publishing Co.
Published By World Circuit Music Publishing Ltd.
Mastered At The Town House

Data provided by Discogs